EN | | PHF Provisional Licence No.:DP000101
| info@specialists.hk | 3405 8288 |

Halitosis

 

Halitosis, or a persistent bad breath, is more than embarrassing. It affects personal and social life, causing a loss of self-esteem and confidence. Halitosis, however, is quite common in healthy people and is something that mouthwash or chewing mints can barely solve, which is unlike “morning breath” and may be a sign of something more serious.

 

 

 

Prevalence and awareness

 

A large study performed in Japan involving 2,672 individuals indicated that 6-23% of the subjects had bad breath. As there is no specific study among our population, the prevalence of bad breath in Hong Kong is unknown but still with significant concerns.

 

 

 

What Causes Halitosis?

 

Halitosis may encompass both oral and non-oral causes.

 

Poor dental hygiene:

 

Our mouth is home to hundreds of bacterial species. Cavities give bacteria places to hide in the mouth that are difficult to clean out by brushing teeth or mouth washing. Volatile sulphur compounds (VSCs) in producing bacteria was recently understood as the main cause of halitosis. Other compounds causing oral malodour including hydrogen sulphide (H2S) and methyl mercaptan (CH3SH) are known to be associated with bad breath.

 

Smoking and dry mouth:

 

Saliva keeps the mouth moist and at a healthy ph balance. The inhalation of smoke, however, can slow down saliva production and aggravate the condition of dry mouth. Dehydration is another major cause of bad breath.

 

Nasal polyps and sinusitis:

 

Some polyps in the nasal passages can probably affect the sense of smell, the ability to breathe through the nose. Polyps may develop with chronic sinusitis. Patients with nasal polyps tend to suffer from sneezing with a persistent post-nasal drip. The symptoms include nasal obstruction, yellowish or greenish nasal discharge, and bad smell from the nose. Citizens with the family history of nasal polyps and sinusitis are at higher risk. Exposure to leather tanning as well as wood dust may increase the risk of developing nasal polyps and sinusitis. Cases of eye complications arising from sinusitis are also presented.

 

Chronic tonsillitis and tonsilloliths:

 

Tonsils are the immune system's first line of defence against ingested or inhaled foreign pathogens. They are collections of lymphoid tissue facing into the aerodigestive tract. Chronic tonsillitis is caused by repeated attacks of acute tonsillitis in a longer period. Sometimes the symptoms milder than the acute phase including sore throat, pus within the tonsillar crypts, a muffled voice, painful swallowing, difficulty breathing in the night, enlarged lymph nodes in the neck, fever, and the foul-smelling tonsil stones. The infection, however, can lead to halitosis.

 

Tonsilloliths are aggregates of bacterial and cellular debris that form in the tonsillar crypts where form the small calcium deposits – called tonsil stones. The yellow curds look like cottage cheese on the tonsils. They may cause the inflammation of painful tonsils and can produce white pus. Patients with tonsil stones usually suffer from bad breath.

 

Sialadenitis:

 

Patients with sialadenitis may find the foul-smelling pus that drains into the mouth and lumps in the cheek or under the chin. Sialadenitis is the inflammation and swelling of major or minor salivary glands, commonly obstruction or ascending infection or both.

Sjögren’s syndrome is another common salivary gland disorder and preferentially attacks females older than 40. The symptoms of Sjögren’s syndrome include dry mouth, dry eyes, sores in the mouth, dry cough, and swollen salivary glands. Sialadenitis may also be associated with fever, ear pain, pus draining through the gland into the mouth, and a salivary gland swelling. Patients with systemic diseases, such as diabetes, may also suffer from sialadenitis.

 

Oral Cancer:

 

Although we cannot presume that bad breath will definitely relate with cancer, we should be highly aware that it could be a potential if uncommon. Oral cancer symptoms usually occur around the mouth, teeth and glands. If patients suffer from constant bad breath, any persistent and painful oral ulcer showing no sign of healing lasting for one month with a "volcano-like" appearance, raised edges and hard surfaces, bloodstained saliva and cervical lymph node enlargement should find out whether it is due to cancer or some other causes, i.e., Leukoplakia and erythroplakia. Leukoplakia generally refers to a firmly attached white patch on a mucous membrane and cannot be rubbed off. It has a twisted shape with raised edges that often appear inside the mouth and under the tongue. The risk of malignancy is from 0.6% to 20%. When the white patch is turning red, or red lesions appear, it indicates an increased risk of cancer with 90% of irregular growth or severe malignancy .

 

Nasal and Sinus Cancer:

 

It affects the nasal cavity and the sinuses. Patients suffer from a persistent blocked nose, nosebleeds, a decreased sense of smell, mucus running from the nose, and mucus draining into the back of the nose and throat. Infections or chronic inflammation in the nose, or sinuses can lead to bad breath. Chronic postnasal drip and sinus drainage are also bad-breath causes.

 

Other chronic conditions:

 

While, halitosis is often linked to an underlying health problem. For instance, it could be a sign of gastric reflux, diabetes, liver or kidney disease.

 

Regardless, there is no shame in having halitosis. If you have a similar experience, you may receive advice from our ENT doctors.

 

 

How is Halitosis diagnosed?

 

Diagnosis of dental problem:

 

Dentists often diagnose halitosis. The diagnosis is based on the patient's history and mouth odour during the regular check-ups.

 

Diagnosis of nose, mouth and throat infections:

 

  1. Nasopharyngoscopy: A nasopharyngoscopy will be advised when patients are suffering from the symptoms in the nose or throat including recurrent nosebleeds, nasal polyps, chronic sinusitis, and suspected nasal cancer.
  2. CT scans: A check-up for paranasal sinuses can help determine the sinusitis. For patients with suspected sialadenitis, doctors may recommend a CT neck scan to check the neck abscess or small stones.
  3. USG salivary glands: Ultrasound is useful for the diagnosis of different disorders of salivary glands. In acute inflammation, salivary glands are enlarged and hypoechoic with increased blood flow. If positive, it shows the existence of a tissue that is more dense than usual.
  4. Microlaryngoscopy: Patients who are suffering from vocal problems (i.e. hoarseness, cysts, polyps) may seek for doctor’s advice if a microlaryngoscopy is needed.

 

Handling Halitosis

 

Once the exact cause is pinpointed, the halitosis can be treated in several ways.

 

Oral hygiene:

 

If patients notice that the breath has been less than fresh lately, they are highly suggested to brush with a fluoride toothpaste and apply the alcohol-free mouthwash to create more of a balance in the mouth.

 

Quit smoking:

 

Smoking is also a major cause of bad breath. While quitting can reduce the risk of halitosis in a significant way, but does not bring it to zero.

 

Nasal polyps and sinusitis:

 

Patients may relieve the symptoms by taking oral medications and using nasal spray. If symptoms aren't improving or are getting worse, patients will be advised to have functional endoscopic sinus surgery, or maxillectomy to solve the nasal problem.

 

Chronic tonsillitis and tonsilloliths:

 

Treatment for tonsillitis should depend on the cause. Doctors will give treatment with antibiotics to cure the acute infection. Antibiotics may be given as a single shot or taken a few days. Recurrent tonsillitis, however, is another case. It may be diagnosed if an individual has multiple bouts of tonsillitis in a year. Ultimately, the ENT doctor may recommend having the tonsils removed (or Tonsillectomy) if it is diagnosed as recurrent or chronic tonsillitis.

 

Sialadenitis:

 

Management of sialadenitis involves the medical way and the surgical approach. Medical management includes hydration, using antibiotics and analgesic, and giving gland massage. Surgical methods including sialendoscopy with stone removal or gland excision can also be applied.

 

Cancer:

 

Surgery, chemotherapy, radiation therapy work well in treating oral cancer and nasal and sinus cancer.

 

 

 

*The above information is for reference only, please consult your doctor for detail.

EN | | 私營醫療機構暫准牌照編號:DP000101
| info@specialists.hk | 3405 8288 |

口臭

 

口臭,也稱為持續的口氣,不單止令人尷尬,並且影響個人及社交生活,更可以打擊你的自尊及自信心。在健康人群中,口臭很常見,並且漱口或咀嚼香口膠幾乎無法解決,口臭與“早上有口氣”不同,可能是更嚴重的警訊。

 

 

 

口臭的普遍性

 

一個於日本進行的大型研究顯示,在2,672位受訪者中有6至23%患有口臭。由於香港有關口臭這問題的研究實在寥寥可數,但口臭一直是困擾很多市民的健康問題之一。

 

 

 

口臭成因

 

口臭包括口腔和非口腔病因。

 

口腔衛生差:


口腔溫藏著數百種細菌。細菌隱藏在口腔中,即使通過刷牙或漱口都難以清除,口腔內的細菌分解蛋白質,生產細菌的揮發性硫化合物(VSCs)被認為是口臭的主要原因,其他還有硫化氫(H2S)和甲硫醇(CH3SH)。

 

吸煙和口乾:


唾液能夠保持口腔濕潤,保持酸鹼平衡。然而,吸煙會減緩唾液分泌並加重口乾的狀況。口腔內脫水是形成口臭的一個主要原因。

 

鼻瘜肉和鼻竇炎:


鼻腔內瘜肉可能會影響嗅覺,及無法正常呼吸。鼻瘜肉可能伴有慢性鼻竇炎。患有鼻瘜肉的病人會因鼻後滴漏而打噴嚏。患有鼻竇炎的病人的症狀有鼻塞、流黃色或綠色的鼻涕、鼻部有難聞的氣味,或患有家族病史;經常接觸到曬皮革的氣體和木屑灰塵的人,有更大機會患此病症。鼻竇炎亦會引起眼部併發症。

 

慢性扁桃腺炎及扁桃腺結石:


扁桃體是淋巴組織,免疫系統的一部份,位於口腔兩側,能產生抗體,有助於對抗感染及呼吸消化道前方的淋巴組織之集合。急性扁桃腺炎因長期反覆發作而形成慢性扁桃腺炎。病人徵狀比急性期輕微,包括喉嚨不適、扁桃線體隱窩裡產生膿液,說話聲音納悶,夜間吞嚥困難及呼吸不暢順,頸部淋巴結腫大、發燒及咳出有臭味的白色粒狀。慢性扁桃腺炎會引致口臭。
扁桃腺結石是細菌和細胞碎片集聚在扁桃腺隱窩中,隱藏細菌、壞死細胞、細胞碎片和粘液,扁桃腺硬化和鈣化而形成扁桃腺石,在臨床上看起來扁桃腺表面上有乳酪樣之物。扁桃腺結石可引致扁桃腺發炎、疼痛及化膿。病人會出現口臭的徵狀。

 

唾液腺炎:


患有唾液腺炎的病人有機會發現口腔內有惡臭的膿液,並在臉頰或下巴下方出現腫塊。這是因為是主要或次要唾液腺的炎症及腫脹,通常阻塞或引致上呼吸道感染,或兩者兼有。
薛格連氏症候群是另一種常見的唾液腺疾病。常見於中年女性,徵狀包括口乾、眼睛乾澀、口腔潰瘍、乾咳及唾液腺腫脹。其他徵狀包括:出現發燒、耳痛、唾液腺管孔排出膿液,唾液線近氣道位置膿腫。其他全身性疾病,例如:糖尿病也會引致唾液腺炎。

 

口腔癌:


儘管不能斷定口臭肯定與癌症有關,但即使不常見,市民應該意識到口臭是一種潛在的表徵。口腔癌徵狀通常發生在口腔、牙齒和唾液腺周圍。如果患者持續出現口臭、潰瘍不癒合並呈現〝火山口〞的情況,潰瘍徵狀持續一個月以上及其面積增大,邊綠外翻,潰瘍位置結硬、疼痛、唾液染血、頸部淋巴結腫大,應檢查確診是否由於癌症或其他病因,例如口腔白斑症、口腔紅斑症。口腔白斑症是指一種緊附於口腔黏膜上發生的白色斑塊的症狀,班塊無法刮除,白斑呈現疣狀,邊緣凸起,常出現於口腔前底部和舌頭的底部。惡性腫瘤的風險0.6%至20%。當白斑變紅色,發生惡性腫瘤的機會更高。90%的病例表現為嚴重的不典型增生或嚴重的惡性腫瘤。

 

鼻腔、鼻竇癌:


會影響鼻腔和鼻竇。病人會發現鼻子持續受阻、流鼻血、嗅覺減弱、鼻子粘液流出、粘液排入鼻腔和喉嚨後方。鼻子或鼻竇感染、慢性炎症可導致口臭。 慢性鼻後滴漏和鼻竇引流也會導致口臭。

 

他慢性疾病:


口臭通常與健康問題有關。例如,它可能是胃酸倒流、糖尿病、肝臟或腎臟疾病的徵兆。
無論如何,患有口臭也不必感到羞恥。如果您有類似的徵狀,建議向耳鼻喉科醫生求診。

 

 

 

診斷方法

 

牙科問題診斷方法:


市民常會向牙醫諮詢口臭問題。可以通過普通檢查,分析病人的病史和口腔異味診斷引起口臭的原因。

 

有關鼻、口腔、咽喉感染診斷方法:

 

  • 鼻咽喉內鏡:如果病人有以下徵狀,例如復發性流鼻血、鼻瘜肉、慢性鼻竇炎、疑似鼻癌,建議進行鼻咽喉內鏡檢查。
  • 電腦掃瞄:電腦掃瞄檢查鼻旁竇可以幫助判定是否有鼻竇炎。如果疑似唾液腺炎,醫生可能會建議對頸部進行電腦掃瞄以檢查頸部膿腫或是否有結石。
  • 唾液腺超聲波: 超聲波可用於診斷唾液腺的不同疾病。在急性炎症中,唾液腺增大、血流量增加,超聲波迴聲低。如果有低迴聲腫塊,代表存在比正常組織更緻密的組織。
  • 顯微喉鏡:患有聲帶問題(如聲音嘶啞、囊腫、瘜肉)的病人可尋求醫生的建議,決定是否需要進行顯微喉鏡檢查。

 

 

治療口臭的方法

 

一旦確切的原因被確定,可以通過以下方式治療口臭。

 

保持口腔衛生:


如果病人感覺最近口腔出現異味,建議用含氟牙膏刷牙,並使用不含酒精的漱口水,平衡口腔中的酸鹼環境。

 

戒煙:


吸煙也會引起口臭。雖然戒煙可以顯著減少口臭的風險,但也不會完全消除。

 

鼻瘜肉和鼻竇炎:


病人可以通過口服藥物和使用鼻腔噴霧來緩解症狀。如果症狀沒有改善、甚至加重,建議病人進行功能性內窺鏡鼻竇手術或上頜骨切除術以解決鼻腔內問題。

 

慢性扁桃體炎和扁桃體炎:


醫生會根據病因治療扁桃體炎。對於急性感染的病人,醫生會給予抗生素治療,抗生素可以單次給藥或連續服用幾天。然而,復發性扁桃體炎另當別論。復發性扁桃體炎是指病人在一年內出現多次扁桃體炎。如果被診斷為複發性或慢性扁桃體炎,耳鼻喉科醫生可能會建議病人切除扁桃體(即進行扁桃體切除術)。

 

唾液腺炎:


治療唾液腺炎包括服用藥物、手術方法。例如:補充水分、使用抗生素和止痛藥,並進行腺體按摩。手術方法包括唾液腺內窺鏡,切除結石或腺體。

 

癌症:


手術切除、放射治療和化療來治療口腔癌及鼻癌都很有效。

 

 

 

*以上資料僅供參考,實際情況或有差異,詳情請向主診醫生查詢。